“This book definitely caught me off guard. I know you can’t judge a book by its cover, but I have grown weary of titles that have phrases like ‘power,’ ‘master,’ or ‘cookbook.’ So, when I got a copy of this ‘quick fix’ book, I was naturally apprehensive. Looking through the table of contents, my apprehension was increased by the fact that the book covers all of the ‘standard ‘topics one finds in any book discussing Linux system administration. However, once I started reading, I was extremely impressed.”

James Mohr, Linux Magazine, Issue 56: July 2005

“There’s no question that Linux Quick Fix Notebook contains a huge amount of correct and relevant advice.”

Nick Veitch, Linux Format Magazine, June 2005

“The Linux Quick Fix Notebook, by Peter Harrison, takes an unusual approach to Linux system administration. Its audience is system administrators who want to configure a Linux system for use as a Web server (although much of its discussion would also apply to a system designed to be a file server). It is designed to be useful to both Linux users moving to this particular administration task and Windows Web server administrators who are moving to Linux.”

“The book provides sufficient and accurate information which will enable members of its target audience to successfully configure a Linux Web server.”

Aeleen Frisch, USENIX Bookworm Review, June 2005

“… the step-by-step instructions, precise configuration commands, and real-world guidance you need.”

Deirdre Blake, Dr. Dobb’s Journal, April 2005

“Harrison covers Linux as if writing a cheat sheet before an exam – it’s a how-to guide on steroids.”

“The topics are short, focused, and effective.”

Art Sedighi, IEEE Computer Society Software Journal, “IEEE Software, vol. 23, no. 2, 2006”

“I marveled at the sheer amount and depth of coverage of system and network administration topics… The topics are explained in a simple and lucid manner keeping complex jargon to a minimum.”

All About Linux, January 2006

“The Bruce Perens Open Source Series of books published by Prentice Hall PTR is a strong collection of nearly 20 volumes focusing on Linux and open source technology… The series includes some excellent editions including Official Samba-3 HOWTO and Reference Guide (2nd ed.), Linux Quick Fix Notebook and PHP 5 Power Programming.”

Slashdot, December 2005

“This is a book that can easily be recommended.”

Pan Pantziarka, The Register, December 2005 t;/p>

“The book introduces just enough theory, it really seems to strike a perfect balance so far, not being too light, or going into unnecessary details. I can’t describe how happy I am to have found this book, and I recommended to anyone …”

Egyptian GNU Linux Users’ Group, November 2005

“The Linux book market remains a crowded one, and anyone looking for a practical book on solving problems is likely to have plenty of potential titles to choose from. However, this is a book that deserves to be high on the list, and it gets a very definite TechBookReport seal of approval”, November 2005

“All in all, Linux Quick Fix Notebook has become one of my new favorite books on Linux administration. I’ve used it on several occasions at work, and it has yet to let me down.”

Brian Warshawsky, Linux Journal, November 2005

“Chapter after chapter of information that intermediate users will love, and advanced users will find helpful as well.”

USA Linux Users Group, September 2005

“… it is a well put together collection of common scenarios and configurations which contain step by step instructions on getting you to the finish line in record time.”

Calgary Linux Users Group, August 2005

“Latest, truly greatest Linux sysadm book – I know three engineers who now carry around Linux Quick Fix Notebook, by Peter Harrison. In a highly readable, to-the-point style, this book contains a wealth of practical, start-from-A tips on essential LAMP principles and techniques … I love it: I’m learning a lot, though my copy is getting kind of ragged, partly because I take it to parties.”

Jim Stockford, San Francisco Linux Users Group, July 2005

This is an excellent book for those who have already read a book about installing Linux and want to know more details on configuring and understanding how Linux services work; detailed steps with common errors are discussed in a clear and precise method. The author covers the subjects very well. There are detailed steps that focus on system administration with emphasis on secure practices. This is a nice (and very much needed) departure from the normal “open up a telnet session to connect.”

Stanford University Linux Users Group.

“One reason this book stood out in my eyes was due to the fact that the examples provided are outstanding — in other words, instead of just giving the command to run, the book includes the typical, complete output that the user could be expected to see. Additionally, the language used throughout the book is clear, concise, and to the point. Additionally, the author took care to include highly relevant tips and notes related to the topic at hand”

J.W. – Reviewer at LinuxQuestio

“Harrison does a great job in hitting the target audience. He is writing to ‘proficient beginners, students, and IT professionals’ who understand the theory but need a little nudge on the command formatting. As a result, there’s less emphasis on explaining a lot of ‘why’ material so that he can devote more time and space to the ‘how to’ material. I must say he definitely nails that mark.”

Robert Duff – Internet Book Reviewer.

“One of the first sections of the book that I read was “Expanding Disk Capacity”. In searching the table of contents this was one section that really caught my eye. My reasoning for selecting this section is two fold: first, I wanted to see if the book could be used as a reference to various topics; and second, because I wanted to check out some of the advanced topics covered in the book. Peter Harrison does a fantastic job of focusing on the topic at hand and providing simple and intelligent instruction to your questions. The flow of the book allows you to pick it up and start with a section and just move through it.”

Ray Hunter – Utah PHP Users’ Group.

“A surprisingly readable how-to guide for system administrators by Peter Harrison. Topics range from simple (file sharing, basic networking) to advanced (centralized logins, VPN configuration, Linux RAIDs and more), with focus primarily on Red Hat’s free Fedora distribution.”

Sharon Machlis – ComputerWorld Magazine.

“Where has this book been all my professional life? It is about time someone wrote this book. The author covers many basic, practical issues that other authors omit in a format that makes for a great troubleshooting reference and for casual perusing. There are a lot of books available that give a broad overview of system and network administration, and there are a lot of detailed books on each specific topic covered in this book, but I don’t know of any other place where I can get so much useful, practical information on such a wide range of topics in such a concise and readable form. I will highly recommend it to my friends and colleagues who are trying to manage their own systems. I am anxious to show it to our instructors who teach data communications and networks as a possible text or lab manual.”

Ron McCarty, instructor and program chair, Computer Science, Penn State Erie

“This book takes a very unique approach and is very flexible. It offers a great deal to the home user, students, small businesses–all the way to any Linux sys admin that needs a handy reference. I found it very refreshing in terms of style, stated goals, presentation, ease of use, direction, and the “present and future” value of the content. In other words the author is very current and knowledgeable. I would recommend this book to every level from programmer to manager.”

Joe Brazeal, Information Technician III, Southwest Power Pool

“Linux Quick Fix Notebook is a well-written guide to designing, installing, and maintaining Linux servers. Many Linux reference texts are just simple rewrites of Linux “man” and “info” pages, but this book addresses the real issues that systems administrators encounter when working with Linux. The author provides a pedagogical guide to learning Linux server administration. In addition, the book includes step-by-step information so that users can quickly take advantage of the best that open source software has to offer today. I would recommend this book to both beginning and intermediate users of Linux.”

Joseph Naberhaus, Professor of Networking, Universidad Del Mar

“This book is an excellent resource for new Linux administrators. I was impressed with the comprehensive set of 35 topic chapters, making this book a very useful reference. I know of no other work like this.”

George Vish II, Linux curriculum program manager and senior education consultant, Hewlett-Packard Education

“I would recommend this book to novice Linux users and administrators. It covers a lot of topics, and makes it easy for readers to follow along.”

Bret Strong, education consultant, Hewlett-Packard Company